top of page

Michael Desta: the phenomenal wild life photographer

Updated: May 27, 2023

The blue-breasted bee-eater photographed in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.


What got you into photography?


"I've always enjoyed photography," said Michael, "but I really became passionate in 9th grade, which is when I would take pictures for my friends' instagram posts. That same year, I enrolled into a photography course which also helped spark my passion. This passion grew into a small business, which later on, developed into my love for wildlife photography and organizing photography galleries."


Which photographer has inspired your work?


"The phenomenal photographers, Girma Berta and Aziz Ahmed have inspired my work throughout my photography journey. But most recently, I have been getting into wildlife photography and Aziz Ahmed has really inspired me as he is a wildlife photographer as well (as opposed to Girma Berta’s street photography)."


What about photography do you like the most?


"The beauty of photography is that it can tell a thousand words in one image. I believe that photos can tell a story that means different things to different types of people. Their life journey and their perspectives help them build a lens in which they perceive the photos. The same image can tell different stories to different people."


Michael has a business where he sells his beautiful wild life images!! Check it out!!


His images are up for sale at the Kikundi Retail Store in the Hilton Hotel and its online website!


Instagram:

@michaeladesta

@kikundi_et


39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page